1981-2012 | 2015-2017


1,000,000 Pesos, (1981-83)

1,000,000 Pesos, (1981-83) front
1,000,000 Pesos, (1981-83) back

Enlarge: Front1,000,000 Pesos, (1981-83) front
 & Back1,000,000 Pesos, (1981-83) back

Front: José Francisco de San Martín (1778-1850), revolutionary leader

Back: May Revolution (25 De Mayo de 1810)


May Revolution
Painting by Ceferino Carnacini (1888-1964)

May Revolution

Enlarge: PaintingMay Revolution


1,000 Pesos Argentinos, (1984)

1000 pesos argentinos (1984) front
1000 pesos argentinos (1984) back

Enlarge: Front1000 pesos argentinos (1984) front
 & Back1000 pesos argentinos (1984) back

Front: José Francisco de San Martín (1778-1850), revolutionary leader

Back: El paso de los Andes (Crossing the Andes)


Crossing the Andes
Painting by Augusto Ballerini (1857-1897)

Crossing the Andes

Enlarge: PaintingCrossing the Andes


10,000 Australes, (1989-91)

10000 australes (1989-91) front
10000 australes (1989-91) back

Enlarge: Front10000 australes (1989-91) front
 & Back10000 australes (1989-91) back

Front: Carlos Pellegrini (1846-1906), President of Argentina 1890-1892

Back: Effigy of Progress

Allegorical representation of Argentina used officially by the Argentine state to represent liberty, republic or fatherland.


2 Pesos, (2002)

2 Pesos, (2002) front
2 Pesos, (2002) back

Enlarge: Front2 Pesos, (2002) front
 & Back2 Pesos, (2002) back

Front: Bartolomé Mitre (1821-1906), author, statesman and military figure. He was President of Argentina 1862-1868.

Back: Mitre Museum in Buenos Aires


Mitre Museum

Mitre Museum

Enlarge: Mitre MuseumMitre Museum


5 Pesos, (2002)

5 Pesos, (2002) front
5 Pesos, (2002) back

Enlarge: Front5 Pesos, (2002) front
 & Back5 Pesos, (2002) back

Front: José Francisco de San Martín (1778-1850), liberator of Argentina, Chile and Peru

Back: Cerro de la Gloria (Hill of Glory) in Mendoza

Atop the Hill of Glory is a bronze monument of fourteen tons that pays tribute to the Army of the Andes for its successful campaign of liberation.


Glory of Mendoza Monument

Glory of Mendoza Monument

Enlarge: MonumentGlory of Mendoza Monument


10 Pesos, (1998-2003)

10 pesos (1998-2003) front
10 pesos (1998-2003) back

Enlarge: Front10 pesos (1998-2003) front
 & Back10 pesos (1998-2003) back

Front: Manuel Belgrano (1770-1820), lawyer, politician, and military leader.

Back: The National Flag Memorial, Rosario

The National Flag Memorial (Monumento Nacional a la Bandera) is a monumental complex built in 1957, on the anniversary of the death of Manuel Belgrano, creator of the Argentine flag, who raised it for the first time in an island on the opposite shore of the river on February 27, 1812.


Flag Monument

Flag Monument

Enlarge: Flag MonumentFlag Monument


20 Pesos, (2002)

20 Pesos, (2002) front
20 Pesos, (2002) back

Enlarge: Front20 Pesos, (2002) front
 & Back20 Pesos, (2002) back

Front: Juan Manuel de Rosas (1793-1877), governor of Buenos Aires province 1829-1832 and 1835-1852

Back: The Battle of Vuelta de Obligado

The naval Battle of Vuelta de Obligado took place on the waters of the Paraná River on November 20, 1845, between the Argentine Confederation, under the leadership of Juan Manuel de Rosas, and an Anglo-French fleet.


The Battle of Vuelta de Obligado
Painting by Manuel Larravide (1871-1910)

The Battle of Vuelta de Obligado

Enlarge: PaintingThe Battle of Vuelta de Obligado


50 Pesos, (2003)

50 Pesos, (2003) front
50 Pesos, (2003) back

Enlarge: Front50 Pesos, (2003) front
 & Back50 Pesos, (2003) back

Front: Domingo Faustino Sarmiento (1811-1888), president of Argentina 1868-74

Back: Plaza de Mayo, Buenos Aires

Courtesy zambari


Plaza de Mayo

Plaza de Mayo

Enlarge: PlazaPlaza de Mayo


100 Pesos, (2012)

100 Pesos, (2012) front
100 Pesos, (2012) back

Enlarge: Front100 Pesos, (2012) front
 & Back100 Pesos, (2012) back

Front: Julio Argentino Roca

Back: "Conquista del desierto" painting by Juan Manuel Blanes (1830-1901)

Courtesy orocondor


Conquista del desierto

Conquista del desierto

Enlarge: PaintingConquista del desierto


100 Pesos, (2012)
Commemorates 60th Anniversary of Eva "Evita" Peron's Death

100 Pesos, (2012) front
100 Pesos, (2012) back

Enlarge: Front100 Pesos, (2012) front
 & Back100 Pesos, (2012) back

Front: Eva Duarte de Perón (1919-1952), First Lady of Argentina 1946-1952

Back: The "Tellus" Panel of the Ara Pacis Agustae Altar in Rome, Italy

The Ara Pacis Augustae is an altar to Peace, the Roman goddess. The monument was commissioned by the Roman Senate on 4 July 13 B.C. to honor the return of Augustus to Rome after his three years in Hispania and Gaul, and consecrated on 30 January 9 BC by the Senate in celebration of the peace brought to the Roman Empire by Augustus' military victories.

Courtesy arg_collecibles


Ara Pacis Agustae Altar

Ara Pacis Agustae Altar

Enlarge: Ara Pacis Agustae AltarAra Pacis Agustae Altar


Ara Pacis: the Tellus Panel

Ara Pacis: the Tellus Panel

Enlarge: The Tellus PanelAra Pacis: the Tellus Panel

1981-2012 | 2015-2017

Back to South America

Argentina is located in southern South America. Spanish navigator Juan de Solis discovered it in 1516. A permanent Spanish colony was established at Buenos Aires in 1580, but the colony developed slowly. When Napoleon conquered Spain, the settlers set up their own government in the name of the Spanish king in 1810. Argentina formally declared independence in 1816. For a more detailed country profile, see CIA World Factbook on Argentina.




Top of Page


Valid HTML 4.01! star Explanation of Level Triple-A Conformance star Valid CSS!

This site best viewed at display resolution 1024 x 768 or higher
Copyright © 2017 Tom Chao ~ All Rights Reserved