Italian / Papal States


95 Scudi, 1792

95 scudi 1792 front
95 scudi 1792 back

Enlarge: Front95 scudi 1792 front
 & Back95 scudi 1792 back

Back to Europe

Papal States was an independent territory under the temporal rule of the popes from 754 to 1870. The territory varied in size at different times; in 1859 it included 16,000 square miles extending north-south on the Italian Peninsula, from the Adriatic Sea and the lower course of the Po River to the Tyrrhenian Sea.
Vatican City, a walled enclave of about 100 acres within the city of Rome, is recognized as an independent state since 1929. For a more detailed country profile, see CIA World Factbook on Holy See (Vatican City).

Italian States, consisted of a number of independent states and kingdoms including the Papal States, ruled Italy from the fall of Roman Empire to 1870's when they were unified under the Kingdom of Italy and Victor Emanuele was installed as king.




Top of Page


Valid HTML 4.01! star Explanation of Level Triple-A Conformance star Valid CSS!

This site best viewed at display resolution 1024 x 768 or higher
Copyright 2015 Tom Chao ~ All Rights Reserved