Ivory Coast


1 Franc, 1917

1 franc 1917 front
1 franc 1917 back

Enlarge: Front1 franc 1917 front
 & Back1 franc 1917 1950 back


.05 Franc, 1920

.05 Franc, 1920 uniface

Enlarge: Uniface.05 Franc, 1920 uniface

Courtesy Detlef Hilmer


.10 Franc, 1920

.10 Franc, 1920 uniface

Enlarge: Uniface.10 Franc, 1920 uniface

Courtesy Udi Sarfati

Small denomination coins were in short supply during and immediately after WWI. Ivory Coast issued a series of three notes using postage stamps pasted on cardboards. The denominations are .05 Franc on 5 Centimes, .10 Franc on 10 Centimes and .25 Franc on 25 Centimes. These notes, each 48mm x 34mm, are among the world's smallest notes.

Back to Africa

Ivory Coast, located on the south side of the West African Bulge, was a part of the federation of French West Africa 1904-1958. Became an autonomous republic within the French Community in 1958, and an independent republic in 1960. It is a member of the monetary union of West African States. For a more detailed country profile, see CIA World Factbook on Ivory Coast.




Top of Page


Valid HTML 4.01! star Explanation of Level Triple-A Conformance star Valid CSS!

This site best viewed at display resolution 1024 x 768 or higher
Copyright 2015 Tom Chao ~ All Rights Reserved